I have a friend who is also an author She told me once the hardest part of writing is getting the first word typed out.  I can now say she has a point.  I have thought about this first post for days and yes, the first word was the hardest.  I will be honest with you, I am so new to this. I often joke with my friends that I have a new understanding for Mork, from the 80’s show Mork and Mindy, landing in the world of reviews, blogs and the writing process for a book, can make a normal person feel like an alien from another planet.  I have loved books all of my life, they were my escape on the dark days, my imaginary friends that kept me company when I was alone, and a reason to laugh out loud and not be looked at as a fool when out in public.  Books were also my first successful act of rebellion when I was able to sneak in paperback copies of  Valley of the Dolls and Dallas into my strict Southern Baptist home. Little did I know what went on behind the scenes though.  You pick up that book in the book store and you might casually think about a person sitting at a computer typing out the story and WHAM, there is it in your hands…………….oh how innocent we can be in our deductive reasoning.

What I have learned is that there are many people between the rough draft of the story and our hands for each book.  I don’t know about you but it makes the act of reading so much more precious to me now after I realize how many edits, changes, loop holes, prayers, screams and tears that follow handing your story over for it to be published.  Now I see each book as a work of art, almost as precious as a new-born baby.  So I want to make this blog an appreciation not only for the story we read, but also for the work and determination that goes on behind the scenes to bring us such stories.

So just to prepare you, I can be rather sarcastic sometimes, I like to call it my modified humor, but I do try not to be so sarcastic that I offend.  Just be prepared and I also should warn you that I can be all over the place in my reading choices.  I tell my husband that when I die, who ever finds my kindle will think I have multiple personalities AND that I am a book hoarder because there is no way I will ever complete my TBR list.  I have been told I am a deep thinker when it comes to my books, I like to take this as a compliment because I am usually told I find a way to get into deep holes with no escape plan, so this works better for my ego.  I hope that during this process I will be able to introduce the concept of getting to know the author of your favorite books.  Read about the authors, get to know what made them write such a book.  I think it just enhances your reading experience, I know it does for me.

I also love to hear from others about what they are reading, what books they would like to see a review on, so please feel free to let me know what you think and what you wish I would review.  Feel free to ask questions and express your own reviews to me.  I have already picked out my first book I want to review, so keep an eye out because it will be one you don’t want to miss.  So I guess the only thing left to say is buckle up and let enjoy the ride together.

